History of A.K McCullagh & Son
A family affair – since 1937
Mr A.K Mccullagh moved to Lydney is 1935 as a manager for W.R. Holmes jewellers at 47 High Street, Lydney. He had taken his apprenticeship with Johnson & Courts of Cumberland and within two years of arriving in Lydney he had bought the business.
The business slowly grew and in 1950 Mr D.A McCullagh joined his father as an apprentice. By 1966 the business was ready to move to the larger premises, and its present site, of 2 Cavendish Building, where it went from strength to strength.
With family at the heart of the company Mr M.B McCullagh joined in 1977 and was shown the ropes by his father, acquiring new skills in the form of engraving and valuation knowledge which are now being shared with the latest addition, Mr L.D McCullagh, who has become the third generation to follow in their father's footsteps.
With three generations of experience A.K McCullagh & Son have been trading for 86 years, making them one of the oldest businesses still running in Lydney, something the family are very proud of. Over the years they have built up a strong loyal customer base in the Forest of Dean area and will continue to provide a great services for many more years to come...